Welcome to Studying The Way

This is my first attempt at a blog. Sure I have Facebook and Twitter, but a blog…that requires a little more work. I toyed with the idea of blogging for a while, but have always decided against it. It does seem to require a bit of work, and it isn’t like I have a ton of free time on my hands. I am a husband, a father of one (and one on the way), I am studying to earn my college degree, I am a volunteer leader in my church’s student ministry, and I work full-time. Life is very busy right now, and blogging seems like one more thing to eat up my time. Blogging also seemed self-serving to me. And maybe a little scary. I mean, what if no one ever reads this? As much as I want to shake it, I have to give it a try.

So welcome! Welcome to Studying The Way.

Studying The Way actually came about over a year ago. I believe that as a disciple of Jesus we are meant to view our lives from the perspective of our faith. I believe that the Bible offers us much more that a list of rules and regulations (in fact, Jesus came because we could not fulfill the law that God gave through Moses!). The Bible is a work of love that teaches that God is for us, and He wants to know us on an intimate level. God has attempted to reach us through a text that He has preserved through the centuries. The Bible is a single story stretching over the course of centuries, about God’s redemptive plan. When someone believes in the work of Jesus, professes devotion, reads His Words, applies them to their life, and allows the Holy Spirit to guide them that person will experience the life that they were made for. That is what this blog is about.

I will spend most of my time blogging about the Bible, Church Issues, Culture, Family, Parenting, Discipleship, and Leadership. I hope that you will join me, and that together we can grow in the knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, the First and the Last, the Lamb that came to take away our sin, that Author and Perfecter of our Faith. Without Him and his Resurrection our faith would be worthless

About Mitchell Norton
My life was changed when God saw fit to forgive me of my rebellion against him. I am not worthy of a righteous God, and I am thankful that he reached out to me. My walk with the Lord has lead me to understand that loving others is just as important as loving God. I am a husband to a beautiful wife, father to an adorable daughter (and one on the way!), and servent of the Gospel. I am not perfect, but one day I will be. "Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord and has made the Lord his hope and confidence." - Jeremiah 17:7

Leave a Reply

