In The Beginning

by Timothy West

In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth. The earth was without form and void, and darkness was over the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters.

Genesis 1:1, 2

I love the book of Genesis. I have always been fascinated by nature and the world around me. Growing up in a Christian home, I was never discouraged from learning about the natural order of things. Maybe my parents knew that my hope in God was greater than my faith in man’s interpretations of things around him. Maybe they knew that God had the power to keep me, or maybe they were just being lazy. But when it came to information about the natural world I was a sponge. Especially about things like dinosaurs.

I also enjoyed reading and studying my Bible. As I learned where the text came from, who was believed to have written each book, and learned about the context of scripture I found the Bible was not simply another book to study for me. It spoke into my life. Within its text I found comfort, direction, and wisdom. However, the Bible begins with a book named Genesis, and Genesis did not tell the same story that I was reading in my science books.

I had a hard time reconciling what my school text-book said about dinosaurs and what the Bible taught in Genesis. If dinosaurs died out 65 million years ago, how was Adam created on the sixth day (the same day as the rest of the land animals)? Did the writer of Genesis mean six literal days? Or was it a translation error? These were questions that I had to find the answers to.

Today, I believe I have reconciled my dilemma, and feel confident in the Genesis account of creation. I know many today subscribe to old earth theories, but I don’t see proof around me to support these claims. In fact, I see proof of the biblical account in the natural world around me. The theories that support the Genesis account are not new, they are the same beliefs that scientists understood before the Darwinian era began.

I believe it to be extremely important that Christians understand the creation story and the book of Genesis. It is after all the first book of what we consider the Word of God. It is the foundation of the Gospel, and our beliefs will crumble if we do not sure our foundations.

Father, thank you for your scripture that you have kept all these years. Thank you for its inspiration, and for its instruction. Lord, I pray that we would always allow its words to inspire and instruct us in our daily lives. Thank you for the story of love that it shares with us. How we see that in the very beginning of time it was always in your plan to send Jesus to be our sacrificial lamb. You always knew what was required, and you met every need.

Lord thank you for the book of Genesis. It has meant so much to me in my life, and I pray that my excitement passes on to my little girls. Your creation is so amazing, but I pray that we never lose sight of the creator. Thank you Lord, for hearing our prayers. Amen.

About Mitchell Norton
My life was changed when God saw fit to forgive me of my rebellion against him. I am not worthy of a righteous God, and I am thankful that he reached out to me. My walk with the Lord has lead me to understand that loving others is just as important as loving God. I am a husband to a beautiful wife, father to an adorable daughter (and one on the way!), and servent of the Gospel. I am not perfect, but one day I will be. "Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord and has made the Lord his hope and confidence." - Jeremiah 17:7

4 Responses to In The Beginning

  1. Pingback: Midweek posts: Animals gathering to Noah, Kid’s fiction, Micro-Evolution & More « creationscience4kids

  2. Thank you for visitiing my Blog … good to meet a fellow believer who trusts the Bible.

Leave a Reply

