“Come, and you will see.”

“Come, and you will see.”

John 1:35-39

Jesus’ ministry begins after he has been baptized by John the Baptist (No that is not a coincidence, that is why we refer to him as such). One day after John had baptized Jesus, John is with two of his disciples when they see Jesus coming. John proclaims to these two that Jesus is the Lamb of God, and John’s disciples leave his side and begin following Jesus. When I say, follow Jesus, I mean they are following him around town. They are stalking him. I can picture them hanging back, watching him interact with other people. All they knew about this man was John’s report from the day before (Come on, if John the Baptist tells you that he saw the Holy Spirit come down and rest on someone; you would go check it out too). There was a lot about this guy they didn’t know; in fact they probably had a lot of questions.

When Jesus notices that they are following him, he turns to them and asks them a question.

“What do you want?”

Can you imagine this mysterious man turning to them and asking what it was they desired of him? He actually asked them what they wanted. You know, this is much like our first contact with the Messiah. We are not forced into an interaction with Jesus. Something draws us to investigate who Jesus is. Jesus’ response to our curiosity is, “What do you want?” Do you want to continue life as usual? Or would you rather give your life to a cause? Would you rather live with purpose? Just like Jesus’ interaction with these two men. Christianity is not a religion that needs to be forced on people. It is a lifestyle that must be revealed to others through our actions.

The followers of John the Baptist must have been caught off guard by Jesus question, because they answer him by asking where he is staying! Although I believe I would perceive this conversation as a strange one, Jesus seems willing to humor them. When they ask him where he is staying, he tells them to,

“Come, and you will see.”

Our lifestyle should create curiosity in those around us. Our actions should lead others to ask why we live in the manner that we do. “Why are you so happy all the time?” “I know you are going through a difficult time, how do you handle it with such gracefulness?” “Why would you be willing to help me?” So that we may reply, “Come and you will see.” When you have shown interest in someone’s life… not a superficial interest but a real authentic interest; they begin to wonder what has influenced your life. And when you get that opportunity to share what Jesus has done for your life and for theirs that is when they begin to feel the urge to investigate what Jesus is all about. It isn’t about convincing anyone other than ourselves that Jesus will fulfill our desires. Not the desires for worldly things, but the desires ingrained deep within us that we try to satisfy with fleeting objects and experiences. Once we are convinced, the Spirit of God will change our lives so drastically that everyone around us wants to know what has happened.

When I think of the disciples’ question, “Where are you staying?” it reminds me of when someone asks Jesus to reveal more of himself to them. I did the same thing before I came to know Jesus. I wanted to know more about him. But there was only so much that I could learn before I had to step out on faith. There are many mysteries about Jesus that we can not understand until we decide to put the fate of our lives in his capable and scarred hands. These two disciples are just beginning their journey with Jesus, and they would later witness Jesus as the Son of God and the Redeemer of the world.

About Mitchell Norton
My life was changed when God saw fit to forgive me of my rebellion against him. I am not worthy of a righteous God, and I am thankful that he reached out to me. My walk with the Lord has lead me to understand that loving others is just as important as loving God. I am a husband to a beautiful wife, father to an adorable daughter (and one on the way!), and servent of the Gospel. I am not perfect, but one day I will be. "Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord and has made the Lord his hope and confidence." - Jeremiah 17:7

3 Responses to “Come, and you will see.”

  1. Pingback: Jesus: Who is he? | daily meditation

  2. Pingback: 120913–George Hach’s Inner Disciplines Journal–Thursday |

  3. Pingback: John 1. The Word was God. Christ The Eternal Word « bummyla

Leave a Reply

