Missional Blogging

Take a moment and humor me. I want you to clear your mind (for some this may take longer than others, but take your time). Stop worrying about that work project due this week or that grocery list that you have been compiling, and allow yourself to begin a new thought process for a few minutes. I am going ask you to use your imagination.

Imagine you live in a place where your faith is not in the majority. Try to visualize that you live in a place where your belief in Jesus Christ actually makes you an outcast. Imagine that you must be careful of what you say about your faith in public, because most of the people in your country are hostile to your belief system. Your faith may cost your family nourishment, shelter, or other necessities of life that you normally take for granted. Picture what it would be like if you could not speak of your faith at work because others who have are now unemployed and unable to find a job. Could you sleep at night if an entire city block just down the street from your home was looted and burned because the businesses and homes were owned by Christians? How would you handle having to walk your little girl to school and back every day because people prey on Christian girls and the authorities ignore the incidents? What if, you were no longer able to meet in a church because men had started waiting outside the church and harassing those who attend the worship services?  Now imagine that you have been forced to  lead and host the worship service because your pastor is in prison, serving a six-year sentence because he was holding these services in his home. And in this gloomy picture visualize that all of the scripture you have to read to your fellow Christians are Romans Chapters 8 and 9…

I know, for many of us this is hard to imagine. Most of my readers (and all of my followers) are American. Unless you have visited a country that is intolerant to Christianity you probably have little to no concept of what close to 200 million Christians go through every day. The scenarios that I started this article with came from headlines about the persecution of Christians around the world. (If you would like to learn more about Christian persecution visit: www.persecution.com). Contrary to popular belief, Christianity is the fastest growing religion in the world. It is estimated that in the previous ten years; one million churches have been started, and the last 30 years may have seen the strongest growth rate of the Christian Church in the world.

While I do believe Romans Chapters 8 and 9 would be my scripture of choice if I were living this scenario, it is very sad to know that many of these 200 million Christians may never have the opportunity to read more than a chapter or two of the Bible. Being able to freely read and study God’s Word has profoundly shaped my life. It offers support and encouragement, instruction and insight; there is knowledge and wisdom, and a love story that has no equal. I cannot imagine my life without at least one of my Bibles to read daily.

I first learned about the persecuted church through Voice of the Martyrs, and recently after attending one of David Platt’s Secret Church simulcast I had begun researching into persecuted areas. To be honest, I have not been passionately looking for ways to help my persecuted brothers and sisters. My zeal only led me to researching the facts. But I could not help but wonder what can we do to help? (Visit www.persecution.com for opportunities to help those in need).

If I were to compile a list of ways to help the persecuted church; one thing that would never have made my list would be blogging. But I recently learned that God is using Christian blogs to empower His Church.

I recently came across a blog called Life Reference by Don Merritt. Actually Don came across Studying the Way and was gracious enough to like one of my articles. Trying to be a good WordPress blogger, I visited his blog and found a wealth of informative Christian teaching and writing. Don is a Sunday school teacher at his church, and like me, has a passion to teach the Word of God.

While reading about Don and his blog I came across a reference to the amount of people from foreign nations who visit his blog on Sundays. Don pointed out that in many of these countries, the Gospel is illegal. He feels very humbled by the fact that people who are being persecuted for their faith have found a means of spiritual nourishment through his blogging. Don didn’t set out to reach the persecuted church by blogging, but the persecuted church has found a way to obtain scripture through blogs like Don’s. I spoke with Don about writing this article, and I asked if I could share his story. He asked that I emphasize that he has in no way created this phenomenon nor does he take credit for what is taking place. God has provided this opportunity.

I found Don’s story to be very exciting. The Church is currently trying to find ways to get the Bible to the persecuted church so that they may grow in the knowledge of our Savior.  And I find it moving to see God allowing Don to share his Sunday school notes with our brothers and sisters who live in persecuted areas of the world. God has led persecuted Christians to find his notes and use them to learn about Jesus! Doesn’t it just make you want to rejoice!

This news has brought me new purpose in blogging. It is an opportunity to assist faithful brothers and sisters in receiving the Word. Studying the Way is not about making much of me, but about spreading the good news of Jesus. Our goal should always be to share the Word of God with anyone who is seeking it. I praise God for what he has already been doing, and we should all pray for those who continue to log onto Christian blogs looking for the Word of God.

About Mitchell Norton
My life was changed when God saw fit to forgive me of my rebellion against him. I am not worthy of a righteous God, and I am thankful that he reached out to me. My walk with the Lord has lead me to understand that loving others is just as important as loving God. I am a husband to a beautiful wife, father to an adorable daughter (and one on the way!), and servent of the Gospel. I am not perfect, but one day I will be. "Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord and has made the Lord his hope and confidence." - Jeremiah 17:7

Leave a Reply

