Do Not Worry About Tomorrow

“Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life?
And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

Matthew 6:25-34

It has been almost two years since my wife gave birth to our daughter. We were supposed to be at the hospital at midnight, but a winter ice storm was moving in, so we left before 10 pm. I was pretty nervous as we pulled onto our street. It had already started sleeting and the road was already becoming slick. The drive was uneventful, and the hospital let us go on to our room. We settled in, and by that evening I was holding my first-born.

She was born wide-eyed

Alexis Grace was born with her eyes wide open. She seemed eager to experience the world. At twenty-two months, she still sees the world as that wide-eyed little girl. We went to the park today and enjoyed the beautiful fall weather that east Tennessee is experiencing. It was a fun day of slides, bubbles, swings, squirrels and a walk through the woods.

In about thirty hours my wife and I are headed to the hospital to meet our newest little girl (that is if she doesn’t decide to come earlier), Paisley Isabella. For the past few weeks we have been getting things ready in our home for our new arrival. Alexis has moved from the crib to her Big Girl Bed. I have heard her say, “I am a big girl!” enough to almost make me cry. The crib is ready for Paisley, she has a new rocker, the infant car seat is installed into the Mommy-mobile, and all of the cameras have fresh batteries. We are set… except I need to pack my bag.

Today I have been thinking about those first few moments after Alexis’ birth. Her eyes were so large, and she was looking so intently into my eyes. I remember melting all at once. I remember bringing her home for the first time. And I remember the first time I brought her downstairs for a midnight feeding. She was still learning how to eat (if you haven’t had a child maybe you don’t know this, but they have a hard time figuring this out), and I had a little scare as she became choked. I had a moment of panic and started to worry. After she spit-up (they do that a lot in the beginning too) and everything was okay I sat there holding my 5 pound little girl, and began to marvel at how much God takes care of me. Seeing her vulnerability and reliance on me made me look at my relationship with God in a completely new light. Before that moment I still tried to do things on my own. I don’t know if I would have admitted it, but I was very self-reliant. But after that night, I understood how much I needed God.

Last week in our small group I had the opportunity to speak with my eighth grade young men about how fragile life is. In our city a high school student recently collapsed on his school’s gym floor because his heart stopped! The coach quickly administered CPR, but had he not been there this young man would have died that day. Our lives are fragile. There is so much outside of our control that keeps us alive. I explained to them how God is not only our creator but our sustainer.

There is no need in worrying, for God is in control. There is no need in anxiety, God cares for you. I can rest at night knowing that if my life were to end, God has promised me an eternal presence in His Kingdom. Not because I am good, not because I am worthy, but because he loves me. I know that God loves me because he sent his son from Heaven to share himself with us. I have been asked why Jesus’ death would be necessary for man’s salvation. The person asking felt that it was ridiculous that God would ask such a thing when he could have given any requirement that he saw fit. Jesus died so that we would know how much God loves us, and knowing that God loves us that much we then get to decide if we will love him back.

Re-read the account of Jesus’ teaching as it was written by a former tax collector. And remember, you do not have to live a life of worry.

About Mitchell Norton
My life was changed when God saw fit to forgive me of my rebellion against him. I am not worthy of a righteous God, and I am thankful that he reached out to me. My walk with the Lord has lead me to understand that loving others is just as important as loving God. I am a husband to a beautiful wife, father to an adorable daughter (and one on the way!), and servent of the Gospel. I am not perfect, but one day I will be. "Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord and has made the Lord his hope and confidence." - Jeremiah 17:7

3 Responses to Do Not Worry About Tomorrow

  1. Pingback: Welcoming A New Member To Our Family « Studying the Way

  2. Pingback: A Christian Response to Election Day 2012 « Studying the Way

  3. Pingback: LIFE IS FAST. DON’T MISS IT. | Elmer Valenzuela

Leave a Reply

