The Enemy Is Seeking To Devour Our Children

Source: Target.com
Girls Hello Kitty Costume

Warning! I am going to vent a little…

I hope the image to the left disgusts you as much as it disgusts me. I felt sleazy just looking it up. But I wanted you to know what I was talking about. My wife and I were walking through the Halloween section of our local Target looking for a Halloween bucket for our almost two-year old. My daughter was enjoying looking through the costumes when we came across this Girls Hello Kitty costume. At first I didn’t notice it was for little girls, and I thought it was in the wrong section! Then I saw the face of the young lady who is modeling the outfit. I was astonished that this outfit would be produced and marketed for young girls. I cannot imagine someone buying this for their 12-15 year old!?

I am the father of two very young girls, and I cannot imagine what type of father would allow his little princess to walk out his front door with this costume on. Our society is constantly teaching our little girls that they must be harlots to be noticed. And our young men are being taught that women are objects of their fantasies and sexual desires. Where is feminist outrage over this absurd exploitation of our little girls?

Fathers we must teach our little girls how they should expect to be treated as ladies. They need to know they can be loved without being sexualized. They need you to give them attention, and teach them what it means to be loved and cared for. We must teach them how to respect themselves.

Fathers we must teach our young boys to respect girls. Our society teaches our young men to perceive girls as objects for exploitation or prizes to be won by being deceptive. We have a grave responsibility to teach these young boys how to be men and how to treat women.

Mothers you have a responsibility to teach little girls how to be ladies. I know that you want to be their best friend when they get older, but the best way to do that is to be their mother now. They will respect and love you for this. They need you to model what it means to be a woman. They need you to support them, but they also need you to teach them that they are not sexual objects.

Mothers you set an example to your little boys of what to expect from a woman. They will most likely marry someone who reminds them of their mother (although most of us do not notice until after we have been married a few years). You have the responsibility to show your young man how a woman should expect him to treat them.

I know this is a lot of responsibility. But it is the job that we accepted when we decided to become parents. We cannot allow our society to teach our little girls to become harlots, and we must teach our young men to treat women with respect. Allowing your little girl to leave the house dressed in this sexually provocative costume accomplishes neither of these. Be vigilant parents, the enemy is seeking to devour your precious children.

About Mitchell Norton
My life was changed when God saw fit to forgive me of my rebellion against him. I am not worthy of a righteous God, and I am thankful that he reached out to me. My walk with the Lord has lead me to understand that loving others is just as important as loving God. I am a husband to a beautiful wife, father to an adorable daughter (and one on the way!), and servent of the Gospel. I am not perfect, but one day I will be. "Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord and has made the Lord his hope and confidence." - Jeremiah 17:7

Leave a Reply

