Welcoming A New Member To Our Family

Maybe you didn’t notice, but I have been away for a few days. I know, a shocker! On Monday morning, October 22nd my wife gave birth to our second child, Paisley Isabella. She was born before ten, and the whirlwind of friends and family began visiting. We didn’t expect to see her until late that afternoon or early evening. What a little blessing she has already been. It has been fun watching Alexis (our first-born) take to her and start to ask to hold the baby.

Paisley Isabella

Unfortunately, we did not all come home Wednesday night. Paisley’s bilirubin became elevated and she was taken to the NICU. Apparently there was a tear in the placenta that allowed their blood to mix. Mommy and baby”s blood types do not match, and so my wife’s body began rejecting the pregnancy. Thankfully we had scheduled an induction and she came quick. So now the little one is still fighting off her mommies blood cells and dealing with the elevated bilirubin. This morning they removed the last of the UV lights and we are expecting her to come home tomorrow.

It is hard to leave your newborn at the hospital and climb into your own bed at night. The sight of the empty crib was not an easy one. But we knew that our little blessing was being cared for by some of the best at the hospital. As we visited the next few days, I became more and more thankful for Paisley’s health. She may not have been ready to go home, but there were other families dealing with more difficult situations than ours. I am very thankful to God that despite the complications, she was never in danger.

A previous entry (Do Not Worry About Tomorrow) was about not allowing worry to paralyze us in our daily lives. Worry and anxiety can keep us from experiencing God because we are allowing those worries to become greater than our faith. So this morning I wanted to share some scripture that has been helpful in my walk with God and especially this past week.

Trust in the Lord forever, for the Lord God is an everlasting rock.

Isaiah 26:4

We trust the Lord because he has always been. In our societies we often listen to the advice and opinions of those who have lived longer than us. God has created everything that we know, and the things not yet known. He is beyond our restrictions of time and space. He created space and time for our lives on earth. The creator is not hindered by his creation. So God is the one being with absolute knowledge and knows what we need.

For you formed my inward parts;

you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.

I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.

Wonderful are your works;

my soul knows it very well.

My frame was not hidden from you,

when I was being made in secret,

intricately woven in the depths of the earth.

Your eyes saw my unformed substance;

in your book were written, every one of them,

the days that were formed for me,

when as yet there was none of them.

Psalm 139:13-16

My little girl has experienced a rough start in life, but I know that God formed her exactly as she is. He planned her body and consciousness long before we met her. He has built her and he alone can sustain her. He knows what lies ahead in this life and the next for our little Paisley. Her future is not uncertain. This verse leads me to praise my God for his mighty works. All of the many miracles that took place to form this chld, the many that have taken place in the life of our almost two-year old, and those that their mother and I have experienced. It truly saddens me to think that so many go through life never acknowledging or celebrating these miracles.

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

Jeremiah 29:11

As I look at my two girls, I am comforted by the fact that God is aware of everything they will go through in this life. He knows the difficulties they will see and the pleasures they will experience. I know that even through the most difficult times they and I can trust him.

And we know that for those who love God all things work together for god, for those who are called according to his purpose.

Romans 8:29

For those who put their hope in the Lord, we know that God has promised that our future is certain. We are sure of our eternity. Not because we are righteous, but because Jesus has shared his righteousness with us. Because of this, we have hope through our difficulties. We know that the storms that come have a clear sky behind them, even if that clear sky is not in this life. That is why we can face the uncertainties of this life. Because we know that our God is in control and that he has declared that all things will work to our good.

Proud Daddy

About Mitchell Norton
My life was changed when God saw fit to forgive me of my rebellion against him. I am not worthy of a righteous God, and I am thankful that he reached out to me. My walk with the Lord has lead me to understand that loving others is just as important as loving God. I am a husband to a beautiful wife, father to an adorable daughter (and one on the way!), and servent of the Gospel. I am not perfect, but one day I will be. "Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord and has made the Lord his hope and confidence." - Jeremiah 17:7

Leave a Reply

