Looking for Eternity

“I am the Alpha and the Omega,” says the Lord God, “who is and who was and who is to come the Almighty.”

Revelation 1:8

ClockSo I am horrible at this book review thing. Every time I sit down with A.W. Tozer’s Knowledge of the Holy, I find myself immersed in the book again. Last night, actually it was this morning while holding our newborn at the hospital… This morning I was reading Tozer’s chapter about God’s divine attribute of being eternal.

Eternity is one of those concepts that few Christians question, but I believe the rest of the world has some issues with. We see life ending all around us, especially this time of year. The scenery around us begins to change color as chlorophyll starts to draw away from leaves, and eventually they are discarded and become piles of dead material.

This annual death is a reminder that this life is not permanent. It ends. All things have an end in this world. For the Christian we can find confidence in the fact that God does not end. He is our creator, and thus is not bound by the natural laws that exist within it. God’s eternity is an attribute that should lead all who praise his name to worship.

Although we are constantly reminded of death and accept it’s sureness; we live our lives as if eternity is certain. The day will pass but we live as if we will always have a tomorrow. This sometimes frustrates those who refuse to believe in a God who cultivates the souls of men. And it is a good thing that we sometimes face this dilemma. God no doubt uses our longing for eternity to help us to understand who he is.

“We who live in this nervous age would be wise to meditate on our lives and our days long and often before the face of God and on the edge of eternity. For we are made for eternity as certainly as we are made for time, and as responsible moral being we must deal with both.”

A.      W. Tozer, The Knowledge of the Holy.

Death should remind us of the eternity that God offers to all mankind. We are both creatures of time and creatures of eternity. We were ultimately made for eternity, but currently exist within the limits of time. This desire within us should lead those who believe in God to praise him, and allows those who do not to question his existence.

About Mitchell Norton
My life was changed when God saw fit to forgive me of my rebellion against him. I am not worthy of a righteous God, and I am thankful that he reached out to me. My walk with the Lord has lead me to understand that loving others is just as important as loving God. I am a husband to a beautiful wife, father to an adorable daughter (and one on the way!), and servent of the Gospel. I am not perfect, but one day I will be. "Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord and has made the Lord his hope and confidence." - Jeremiah 17:7

Leave a Reply

