Freed Slaves

Chain Link

Chain Link (Photo credit: small world)

Paul, a bondservant of Jesus Christ, called to be an apostle, separated to the gospel of God.

                                                            Romans 1:1  

Paul begins his greeting to the Church in Rome with his credentials. In this description he includes the label “bondservant”. The significance of the word is that it describes a slave who has paid off his debts, his required servitude is complete, and they choose to stay a servant of his master rather than being free. Of course a bondservant enjoys a new level of freedom that was not available previously.  

Paul uses this word to describe his credentials as a follower of Christ we can learn a great deal about the attitude necessary for a disciple of Jesus. Paul understood himself to be a volunteer servant for God. Like a bondservant, he understands that his “master” can provide a better life than he can achieve on his own. Because of this, his love for God is greater than his love for self. 

It is important that we understand our service for God to be that of a bondservant. We are free to go, but why would we!? The life that Jesus offers is one filled with purpose and love. This may look different for each of us. God will not force me to do anything; only offer my participation in his plan. He doesn’t need me to complete his will, but he graciously includes me despite my unworthiness of such a calling. Only God knows what the abundant life will look like for me. Only he knows where my fulfillment will come from.  

Paul chose to view his life as that of a freed slave who chooses to continue serving his master. God offers us this position as well. We may choose to be a slave of sin, or we may choose to be freed from sin and the servant of our creator. Paul’s choices led him down a difficult path that ultimately led to his execution. But I believe Paul’s life was fulfilled in his desire to spread the Gospel and reach those who seemed unreachable. He considered serving God in prison more fulfilling than living life free without meaning. 

I pray that I would seek God’s direction in my life, and freely give my liberty to him so that I may live a fulfilled life, to count his work as greater than my life.

About Mitchell Norton
My life was changed when God saw fit to forgive me of my rebellion against him. I am not worthy of a righteous God, and I am thankful that he reached out to me. My walk with the Lord has lead me to understand that loving others is just as important as loving God. I am a husband to a beautiful wife, father to an adorable daughter (and one on the way!), and servent of the Gospel. I am not perfect, but one day I will be. "Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord and has made the Lord his hope and confidence." - Jeremiah 17:7

3 Responses to Freed Slaves

  1. Mitchell, you are a blessing to the world.

    • Thank you for your kind comment. I am at a loss as to how to respond. I share on Studying the Way hoping to encourage others in their walk with the Lord. He has blessed my life immearsurably, and I only hope to be a reflection of his light. If you were blessed by something I wrote, it is only because of the blessing of Christ in my life.

      Thank you.

  2. Pingback: Embracing Slavery « He Dwells — The B'log in My Eye

Leave a Reply

